November 7th, 2020

Book 21 - 2019

Book 21: The Glow of Fallen Stars by Kate Ling - 359 pages

Description from bookdepository.co.uk:
Love brought them together - life is pulling them apart ... Seren and Dom's epic love story is the perfect read for fans of Beth Revis and Meg Rosoff.

'I longed so hard for all the things that make life life, and I never thought they'd be mine. But now ... now they are. Now I have something to lose.'

Seren and Dom have fled their old lives on board spaceship Ventura in order to be together. They crash-land on a beautiful, uninhabited planet, which at first seems like paradise.

There is no one to answer to ... but no one to ask for help. And with each new day comes the realisation of how vulnerable they truly are.

This planet has secrets - lots of them. Uncovering them could be the key to survival, but at what cost?

The follow-up to The Loneliness of Distant Beings, Kate Ling's second book takes us on an incredible journey through love, loss and the strength of the human spirit.


Thoughts:
Erring on the side of caution once again, with a 4 rather than a 3. There is so much this book could have been that it wasn't, wasting good ideas and intriguing characters to instead focus on the melodrama of a teenage romance. So my 4 is for the ideas, my 3 for the teenage nonsense. Seren finally works out that abandoning everything you've ever known, and throwing yourself into an insanely unsafe situation for a boy you've known a few months might not be the best idea. She also realises that said boy might not be as amazing as she thought. Meanwhile, Ezra, one of the few interesting characters, gets severely under explored, as he finds himself (and Seren, but she's really annoying about it) infected by a strange coral that starts displacing them in space/time. This thread should have been explored more fully, as should have all sorts of things about the planet they landed on, the signal all the ships were chasing etc. Instead, we just hear about Dom and Seren and the girl that is trying to muscle in on Dom for 100+ pages. So ultimately, some really cool science/space ideas left unexplored because of teenagers. Probably should have expected it from the start!


21 / 50 books. 42% done!


5388 / 15000 pages. 36% done!

Currently reading:
Journey to the West
by Cheng-En Wu - 673 pages
Security Studies: An Introduction
edited by Paul D. Williams - 620 pages
Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch
by Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman - 405 pages

And coming up:
The Second Chronicles of Thomas Covenant: Volume 3: White Gold Wielder
by Stephen Donaldson – 500 pages
The Odyssey
by Homer – 324 pages
Circe
by Madeline Miller - 333 pages
  • Current Music
    Both Sides Now - Carly Rae Jepsen